Managing company settings for multi-user licenses

When you purchase a company license with two or more logins, you can designate a license administrator on behalf of the multi-user account to oversee the licenses, manage users and groups, configure project and group permissions, and share information. 

 

Adding and removing users on a multi-user license

License administrators can manage users by inviting users to join the license or removing them when they no longer need access to the software.

 

To add users to the license:

  1. Go the Users tab in Company Settings
  2. Click Add User.
  3. Type the user’s name and email address in the spaces provided and click Invite User. The user is added to the users list with a status of “Invited,” and a welcome email is sent with instructions for logging into the AIA Contract Documents online service. 

 

To remove users from the license:

  1. Go to  the Users tab in Company Settings
  2. Click Remove for the desired user.
  3. Click OK.

 

Creating user groups

By default, all users in your multi-seat license can view and edit all projects and documents. If you prefer to configure your license to limit access to certain projects and/or documents, you can add users to groups and configure your projects so that specific groups have no access, read only access, or read/write access.

 

To create a user group:

  1. Go to the Groups tab in Company Settings
  2. Click Create New Group.
  3. Type a group name and description in the spaces provided and click OK.

 

To remove a user group:

  1. Go to the Groups tab in Company Settings
  2. Click Delete for the group you want to remove.
  3. Click OK.

 

Adding and removing users to groups

 

To add users to a group:

  1. Go to the Groups tab in Company Settings
  2. Click the name of the desired group. 
  3. Click Edit when the list of the members of the group is displayed.
  4. Click Add Members from Current Users at the bottom of the screen and select the checkboxes for the users you want to add to the group.
  5. Click OK

 

To remove users from a group:

  1. Go to the Groups tab in Company Settings
  2. Click the desired group name and click Edit.
  3. Select the checkboxes for the users you want to remove.
  4. Click Remove Member. The user is removed from the group (no confirmation message).

 

Understanding group permissions

In AIA Contract Documents, access and permissions to project data are managed at the group level.

There are two levels of permissions:

  • Read permissions allow a user to view data for a project but not change it.
  • Read/Write enables all functions.

If a user is in more than one group with Read and Read/Write permissions to a certain project, the least restrictive permissions will apply.

By default, all users are added to the “Everyone” group, which has Read/Write permissions for all projects.

 

Adding and removing group permissions to projects

 

To add or remove a group to a project:

  1. Go to the Projects tab in Company Settings
  2. Click the name of the desired project. A list of the groups that have access to the project and their access levels is displayed.
  3. Click Edit.
  4. Click Add Group. To Remove a group, select the checkbox for the desired group and click Remove Group.
  5. Select the checkboxes for the groups you want to add to the project, and select the desired level of access from the drop-down menu.
  6. Click OK
  7. Click Save to save your changes or Cancel to exit without saving changes.

 

Publishing and unpublishing information

For companies with multi-seat licenses, the license administrator can publish custom templates, clauses, and contacts so they are available to all company users.

Once a custom template, clause, or contact is published, only the license administrator may edit it or unpublish it. If the license administrator chooses to unpublish the object, it will once again be made local to the user who created it.

 

To publish or unpublish a custom template:

  1. Go to the Custom Templates tab in Company Settings
  2. Click Publish or Unpublish next to the desired user-specific template. 
  3. Click OK.

 

To publish or unpublish a clause:

  1. Go to the Clauses tab in Company Settings
  2. Click Publish or Unpublish next to the desired user-specific clause. 
  3. Click OK.

 

To publish or unpublish a contact:

  1. Go to the Clauses tab in Company Settings
  2. Select the checkboxes next to the desired contact(s) and click Publish.
  3. Click OK.

To unpublish a contact, click Unpublish next to the desired contact.

Archiving projects

The Archive feature allows you to show or hide projects on the project list. Archived projects can be activated at any time should you need to work on them further.

To archive or unarchive a project:

  1. In the Company Settings panel, go to the Projects tab
  2. Click the Archive Projects button above the Projects list.
  3. Select the checkboxes for active projects you’d like to archive. Deselect the checkboxes for archived projects you’d like to activate. 
  4. Click the Save Changes button.
Was this article helpful?
1 out of 4 found this helpful
Have more questions?
Submit a request